[Poem] If My Eyes were Stars

2008-10-08 @ 2:49 p.m.

If my fingers were ivory,
I'd break them off, one-by-one,
Shamed by perfection
And give them away to be carved into combs.

If my hair were spun gold,
Like in the story,
I'd crop it all, shear it off,
Gather it together and offer it up,
Afraid of its shine,
Sick of its sunlight;
I'd give it away.

If my eyes were stars,
I'd keep them both closed
So that the light didn't blind
The people who looked;
And, if I became overwhelmed
With a longing to see the world,
I'd pluck them right out,
Lock them up in a box,
And discreetly hide them
Anywhere I would forget.

Perfection can sicken, twist
What is simple and make it
A chore
To exist;
Beauty can blind
And leave one wanting for something
That means a bit more.

So if my eyes were stars,
I wouldn't be who I am;
If my hair were gold,
I'd weaken.

I'm glad I'm just me,
A girl with a name,
And eyes that are eyes, and hair that is hair,
And fingers that stumble or cling,
Because it's simpler to be
Simple, plain me,
With a smile, and a laugh, and some stains.