[Poem] Anticipating the Deconstruction of a Lover

2009-01-02 @ 11:00 a.m.

I want to
deconstruct

you,

slip inside your dreaming eyes
while your mind
is gone
in sleep and

take you apart take
you apart piece-by-piece:

peel back your skin, leave
fingerprints on your
fingerprints:
fingerprints on your
fingertips.

I need to need
to
twist myself up
myself up in your
hair, surround
myself with the scent of you.
I need to lie for years
in
your hair, querido.
Deconstruct you, pull you apart take
your hair and offer it
to the heavens,
soft smell, heady scent of
your
identity and
a sacrifice
sacrifice to the memory,
the memory I'll make of you.

I'll tell my secrets to
your eyelashes
and lock them away
away in a tiny
silver
box.

I want to
unravel
your
arteries,
your veins, capillaries,
sinew,
beautiful and vital,
my dear my
dear one.

I want to swim
in your bloodstream --
I want to
let
the red
red filter through
my fingers.

I want to unwind
your
flesh,
expose the bones, your bones your
framework,

wrap my fingers around your ribs and rattle them --
a caged animal,
caged animal,
wild,
imprisoned in you.

I want to count your parts,
number your
bones,
keep time
time
time for your heart
while you're away.

I want

I want your heart, I need I
need your heart.
I'll lift it out of your chest
with reverence,
the blood will be a waterfall
for love;
the blood will be water and I'll
keep
keep your heart, keep your heart, I
need
your
heart.

Your heart in my hands.
An oath, a blood-bond,
pulsing,
because I won't harm you,
king
king of my dream.

I want to
take you apart.

My darling, I will
whisper sweet
sweet nothings
into your
ear,
cradle it in my hands;
gaze into
your eyes,
nestled on a field
of blazing velvet, oh love;

I could frame your
mouth
in gold
gold filigree,
so when you need me, when you long
when you burn
for a touch I can
breathe your breath,
sigh my love
love
into your lips and
kiss your mouth.

Kiss
your mouth, gaze
at it, framed like
a treasure,
my treasure.

I want to
deconstruct

you.