[Poem] This is Not a Love Poem

2009-05-05 @ 2:43 a.m.

I want to be called by no name but Night.

I want to be a woman.
I want midnight eyes,
velvet lips,
skin like a pearl or
a peach or
a petal.

I want to be your cheap trick.

I want to stop you with a single glance,
and then be forgotten in
the space of a breath.
I want to be needed --
for a moment.

I want to be a darkness,
a consuming, raw Something,
a mystic connection
to the stars
or the moon, or the sea,
or the girl you once loved
for a day or so.

I want
candy
and coins
and ashtray kisses.

I want you to feel powerful
with me. I want
you to feel power
over me, for you to
sink your teeth into softness.

I want to break the chains
when you close the door.
I want to remember your name
when you forget mine.

I want to long for another
one night
exploration.

I want to give
this up, I want to be
broken.

This is not a love poem.

I want blood all over
this white dress: I
want
nothing.

I want you
to snap all the strings,
to light them on fire
and laugh as they burn
and then take my hair
and my mouth and my
eyelids.

I want to be a lady,
a lover,
a whore,
a butterfly,
a queen.

I want to be the
empress
of your darkest stain,
and to
open up my arms.

I want to be
your confessional.

I want to be disposable.

I want you to empty
yourself into me,
and then
turn your back. I
want to take your
words, your dreams, your
alibis,
all your broken promises,
and wash them away,
and make you
new.

I want you
to want me
no longer
than a moment.
I want
the power of being forgotten.

I want anonymity.

I want you to call me
all manner
of colorful things -- anything
but my name.

I want to be a thief.
I want to trespass
in your gardens.
I want
to take
what I want
and leave the rest.

I want you to break me.
I want to be broken.

This is not a love poem.

I want to open the curtains.
I want
to unlock the door.
And I still
want you to tear the curtains down
and break the
lock
that isn't locked and
take what you hunger for, for you to set
the rest
on fire, sweetly and
painfully ...

I want to remember your mouth
and forget your face.