[Poem] That Sour Taste

2007-11-29 @ 10:30 p.m.

my heartbeat slows
a hollow, metallic clink resounds
clockwork, pumping blood
to fill my brain
with broken dreams

i feel hope fading away
and in the night
i lie there
my sheets drown me and i know
that something terrible has happened
it's a panicking feeling
it swells in my heart, crashes over like a wave
consumes me whole
and it's all i can do to fight the tears

where are you?
why can't i hear your voice
i scream your name and no one answers me

there's a sour taste in my mouth
i remember it vaguely from times
other times
frozen seconds ticking past
as i stare into the future
and wait to see your face surfacing in the mirror

i don't love him
we both know it's true
all i want is you

romeo and juliet
i'll be the princess to your prince
and if you go
if you go, my black prince
most of me will follow

i tread carefully in this place
memories follow me, dancing around my feet
i leave tracks of blood behind me
because it's like walking on glass.