[Song] Hurtin' to Feel Your Love

2008-10-07 @ 12:30 a.m.

((Written by my character, James Cooper, to his sometimes-wife, Cassie Jacobsen, during their longest break-up. He played it for her after a fight during which he was a right jerk face, and they agreed to disagree, essentially, and slept on the ground at the side of a building that sold ferry tickets to Morocco.

I don't condone swearing. However, James does. He condones it very much.

I am putting it here so I remember it, and can put it to a little bit of music sometime in the future, for my dear Vikki. It doesn't make much sense unless you know the story. >_>))


Little lady,
I know I ain't the keepin' kind,
But I can't get you off my mind ...

Little lady,
When the sun goes down and the day is through,
I know you don't believe, but all I think of is you,
And this world is cold, and this world is cruel,
And there's times when I play a goddamn fool,
But you gotta believe
That why I can't leave
Is 'cause I'm hurtin' to feel your love.

And, little lady,
It's been way too damn long
And I been singin' this song every night,
And even just to fight
I'd walk the world,
And you know, you're my girl,
'Cause, little lady
I ain't a live man when you ain't here by my side
Might's well close up that damn casket and tell 'em all I died 'cause
There's nothin' worse than feelin'
That burnin' that I get when
I'm hurtin' to feel your love.

Cass, now, you're the only sunshine in this cold 'n rainy hell,
And every time I sleep I just hear those weddin' bells,
And I know we might be through
But all I want is you.

We just keep tryin'
And just keep dyin'
Forgive and forget,
It ain't worth a lick,
Openin' blue eyes to a new life, pain too much to mention
They say the road to hell's paved with ... good ... intentions
Little lady ...

Little lady,
I know I ain't the keepin' kind,
But I can't get you off my mind ...

This world is cold, and this world is cruel;
There's times when I just play a worthless goddamn fool,
But you gotta believe
That why I can't leave is ...
'Cause I'm hurtin' ... to feel ... your love.