[Poem] Tremor

2008-11-18 @ 11:22 p.m.

of your hands and
perfect serendipity blind
to every
other
thing

will lead us there to a vale of tears
and new
beginnings

when your lips
frame the words i cannot speak,
my rib cage
creaks open
to reveal the ticking clock

(one two three)

so much i swallow
to live in my dreams
out there,
but pumping
is this a sacred heart?

it's scarred

when you assign meaning to colors
that drain away from the world,
it doesn't mean
the meaning fades too

even if my joints creak
with neglect
and age
and forgotten forgetting
come to me, my lovely one:
i'm waiting

and when the dawn breaks
ragged we will lie,
arm in arm, hand in hand,
heart in heart,

and i will scratch and scrape for something to keep
and you can chew my heart
until the red ruddy rust taste of blood
fades
and you're left with a dead thing

but those circles mean forever
and my needy kiss means
a million things:
(thank you thank you thank you)

abused by the world,
i will not blame you
beaten by my own
escape
i will cry

and all these meanings are meaningless
because in the end
the ticking stops

and if you're not there i think i'll drain away
like those colors.